klm
  •  klm
  • 70.75848% (Friendly)
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2020-04-29T21:29:19Z
Hello -

So I have a question about RSLogix 500 software. If you go to "Tools" and then select "Data Base" - under "Data Base"

you will see several selections for a user to 'click' on. The selections I'm talking about are as follows:

1. "Delete DB"

2. "Delete Unused Addr"

3. "Rebuild DB"

My problem is ... I don't know what these selections do ... can you please explain what each of these selections (mentioned above ... 1 ... 2 ... 3....) do?



Thank you-

klm
Guest
2020-04-29T21:33:33Z
By database they mean the instruction description/symbol and rung comment database. With that said, I think the concept of delete database is obvious. Delete unused addresses will delete any description entries that are not being used in the program. Be careful with that as there are times that the system thinks addresses are not used where they are. Rebuilt DB re-indexes that data if the database is corrupted.
klm
  •  klm
  • 70.75848% (Friendly)
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2020-04-29T21:41:30Z
Thanks for answering my question - I was wondering, if I deleted the Data Base - would that get me into trouble; I mean would I delete something that I couldn't get back (without reinstalling the RSLogix 500). In reguards to my question please keep in mind I'm talking about starting over from scratch; and writing a new program/project.

BTW - I couldn't see the software developers creating a software where a person could delete something that would cripple the application, and do it in a way that would be so easy.



As always - I appreciate any comment(s) you may want to add regarding this issue - Thanks agains.

klm
Guest
2020-04-29T21:43:11Z
There is really no reason to delete the database. When you create a new project, you get a different database listing to go with it. Keep in mind, the default database with a new file is not empty. It contains the descriptions for all of the status file words and bits which you will want. I have never deleted a database and I dont recommend it. It wont really hurt anything as far as the software goes, it is just going to zap all of the records. Delete database is really a bad description of what the command does. It really deletes the database records or clears it out, but there still is no reason to do that.